7 Yoga Poses To Balance Your Chakras

When a chakra, or wheel of energy, is stuck, it may be helpful to release the prana (energy) through movement. Yoga poses are a great way to release stale or stuck energy from the body because they invite fresh, vital energy back in through poses and the breath.

I’ve selected my favorite asanas, which correspond to each of the seven main chakras.

Yoga poses that can help to balance your chakras aren’t limited to the ones below. In fact, some of the chakras have many postures to help activate or balance the energy center. Please feel free to share your favorites!

1st Chakra (Muladhara)

1st Chakra (Muladhara)

Virabhadrasana I, or Warrior I, is a great pose for the first chakra. It connects you to the earth, giving you a strong foundation in the feet. With the root chakra located at the base of the spine in the pelvis, the hips get a nice stretch in this pose, releasing stale energy.

2nd Chakra (Svadhisthana)Baddha Konasana

Baddha Konasana, or Bound Angle Pose, is appropriate to balance the second chakra. This hip opener once again brings attention to the pelvic region, where this chakra sits closely to Muladhara. Stretching the groin area helps to release tension in the seat of Svadishtana.

3rd Chakra (Manipura)


Navasana, or Boat Pose, helps to stimulate the third chakra. Located at the solar plexus, this posture activates the fire of Manipura and connects us to our center.

4th Chakra (Anahata)


Ustrasana, or Camel Pose, opens up our heart center. We often protect our hearts and close them off to vulnerability, which may limit our experiences. When we expose our hearts we can invite more love and give more love out, thus balancing Anahata.

5th Chakra (Vishudha)Fish-Pose-Matsyasana

Matsyasna, or Fish Pose, releases our throat chakra. Stretching out our throats permits us to freely express ourselves through our unique voices.

6th Chakra (Ajna)


Child’s Pose connects the third eye to the floor, stimulating our center of intuition. By physically activating and bringing awareness to Ajna, we may be able to access our great inner wisdom.

You can also stack your fist under your third eye for more stimulation.

7th Chakra (Sahasrara)rsz_sirsasana

Sirsasana, or Headstand, activates our crown chakra by placing pressure on the tops of our heads. The seventh chakra is the gateway to universal consciousness, and when stimulated we bring attention to this area and can connect to our higher self.

Some say Yoga will heal the world, and others practicing it, live up to be 95 and look like 40.

Inspired by: Mind Body Green

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top